Do it Yourself…wait, what?!

I made a list of things to accomplish/try/make/do (you get the drift) before my 30th Birthday. I’ll post it at a later date, but one of the “things” is to make some of those crazy simple cool DIY crafts! I don’t have any kids, but it might be a good way to be ahead of the game with what crafts/experiments are the best. When and if ever I have those rug rats, I’ll be that “cool” mom.

So for my first craft, I took crayons and melted them into heart molds. Seemed simple enough to complete without completely butchering it. On a side note, I have no idea what I’m going to do with these completed crafts, but I already warned my mom that she might get some packages mailed to her containing my master pieces! Right off the bat, I didn’t really think the molds looked like the traditional pointed heart, but that’s not the craft’s fault.

Step 1 Crayon Heart Mold

I saw some versions that said to cut the crayons once you took the paper off of them. I didn’t waste my time getting a knife all colored up. I was able to easily snap each crayon into four pieces. I used about half the box of a 24 pack of crayons and only filled the molds about half way. You can add more or less depending on how thick you want your hearts to be.

Step 2 Crayon Heart Mold

I baked these suckers in the oven for about 15 minutes at about 230 degrees. The liquid looked so pretty when I took them out! Oh yeah, I also put the mold on a cookie sheet.

Step 3 Crayon Heart Molds

If you’re going to make these, make sure to let them cool completely. I can be a pretty impatient person sometimes and I didn’t wait until they cooled down and one of them snapped in half. Oops. You can’t really tell in the picture because I smashed it back together (I used that one to scribble with and it reminded me of those rainbow pencils with the multi-colored tips I had back in middle school).

Step 4 Crayon Heart Mold

Overall this craft was simple; including the bake time (but clearly not the cool down time, ha), it took me about 20 minutes. If you like hearts and crayons, this one’s for you!

Leave a Reply

